Typefaces that need to be taken off life support.

nocomicsans180x180If you don’t know what two typefaces I am talking about you better listen up and listen up good. These two typefaces were run over with the truck long ago because they just look so awful but someone had to nurture them back to life and over use them to the point of me wanting to gouge my eyes out. Both of these fonts have not only been over used but used incorrectly and inappropriately over and over again. I am talking of course about Comic Sans and Papyrus.

These two D students of the typography world have slipped through the cracks and because of smart people like Microsoft…have ended up on every copy of Word. Because we all know we will need those to spice up our term papers, power points, or excel spread sheets. Check out both of the sites that are linked to these pictures to see more of what I’m talking about and to hear from more people like me that think they should be stopped! My graphics prof in college once told me that every typeface has a place in design…except for comic sans and papyrus. Thoughts are always welcome!

papyrus-font.jpg

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

