Francis Ford Coppola Wines

Picture 1

For the past 3.5 years of working for M&R Liquors I have found many wines that have very attractive labels and bottle designs, so I have decided to go through some of these. I am doing this partly because I enjoy talking about good design and party because this is research for my own label design that I’m doing for my uncles vineyard. But I digress…I started with Ecco Domani’s Wine labels and now I continue to Francis Ford Coppola’s labels.

633261562098961998.JPG

Now I must first be more specific with much series or collection of their wines I am looking at, I am talking about their Diamond Collection. The reason why the Californian wine stands out to me is the label of course, which makes the label very successful in its mission.

The label of any wine is suppose to catch the eye of the buyer and be memorable, much like every design. That is so when someone has the wine at a party or restaurant they can come to a liquor store and recognize the wine. If the label catches the buyers eye it also makes it stand out from all the rest, which can be helpful when you go to a store where there are hundreds of different wines, but you don’t know what any of them taste like. If you see one that looks interesting just based on the packaging you assume it must also taste as good as it looks. At that point the designer has become victorious.

That was just a long way of saying that Coppola caught my eye and made me want to try it. Now I have found out from my bosses, who have great palettes, that their wines are overrated, but are still pretty good. And we do sell a lot of their wines even though they are expensive, but no one knows or thinks they are overrated.

Picture 3

The label is very simplistic and are all mono toned which makes them very appealing. When you walk down the isle you can pick it out easily and not have to be distracted by the other wines. The label just looks so clean, smooth, simple, and just doesn’t look cheap. Now I am not a huge fan of the arch in text because it just reminds me of Microsoft Office text art stuff, but I think the text arch works for this design and doesn’t look tacky or amateur.

They have also had some interesting was of promoting their wines. Last summer they attracted a deck of playing cards to the wines. The cards are really nice and have some pretty interesting pictures on them of the wine and women displaying them. The ads I think were doing very well and are just flat out awesome. They make the wine look expensive, elegant, sexual but not too sexual, and very tempting indeed. Their website is also very well done so check it out as well.

Picture 2

Picture 5

Picture 6

Picture 7

I found this cool little site that has 30 creative wine label designs and I have found some inspiring ideas from this bunch. Take a look at all of these awesome designs. I have never seen any of these wines in Connecticut or at M&R Liquors.

**As a side note I am going to try all of the diamond collection wines, but that this another post for another day.

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

