Art Nouveau

Sorry I haven’t been keeping up with my blog as of late, I am a very lazy man when it comes to updating it. It has been a while since I have posted anything related to design so I am posting some long-awaited projects from a class I took this fall. If you look back on my posts you will see I already posted my Victorian design project, this is my project for the Art Nouveau style.

The assignment was to pick a business that uses gift cards and design the card and packaging in Art Nouveau style. I choose to do gift cards for Eli Cannons Tap Room in Middletown, Connecticut. As you can see from my sketches I was going the more sexual route and my professor wanted me to use the images, but not play with sexuality so intensely.

(This would be the display for the cards)

(Ignore the typefaces on the digital sketches since they don’t really point to Art Nouveau at all)

(Also ignore the black and red one, since that isn’t Art Nouveau either)

As for the format and packaging of the cards I wanted to do something more unconventional and something original. I wanted these cards appealing to buy and even appealing to collect or keep. The idea I came up with was for the gift cards to double as bar coasters, which would be functional and be a novelty item that someone may want to keep. The packaging would be the display for the gift cards in the bar and grill areas.

Here are my sketches and the design I turned in. I did construct these into physical cards and display, but I have lost them. I am going to make some changes to the cards based on feedback from peers and my professor so the reworked design will come soon. The reworked cards and display will be constructed and photographed. Let me know what you think.

(The tag line at the bottom is also going to be subject to change…)

Here is the front of one of the cards and the back…

(Front – edges of the coasters will be rounded when cut.)

(Back – edges of the coasters will be rounded when cut.)

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

