American Typewriter

Another day another typeface! American Typewriter is an interesting face taken from the lovable typewriters that preceded our computers. Although typewriters mechanically set all the letters with the same amount of space, American Typewriter has proportional set widths, which I found to be interesting. This typeface has been used in advertising and on a corporate level. Office Max uses this font for its corporate identity and it gives them a casual business look and feel, which I think is appropriate for them. But I do think it is a little too bold for me. And of course it has been used for the classic I Love NY, which no one can deny looks awesome.

The font has some interesting features about it that I find appealing and grotesk. American Typewriter as body copy looks even in texture and is very readable. This even texture is due to the consistent stroke weight in all of its letters. But I don’t care much for the embellishments on the curvilinear features of the face. I think these decorations are goofy and a little too much. I do, however, think this font shouldn’t be bastardized like Comic Sans or Papyrus. American Typewriter has character and personality that can be used by graphic designers. Also I feel it is very important for a typeface to have interesting negative space in and around each letter form and in the body copy. American Typewriter has great negative space.

My personal favorites in the American Typewriter alphabet are the upper case Q, lower case j, and the lower case g. The Q has such a lovable tail, the g has an ear and loop that give it a strong personality, and I think I just like the letter j for any typeface period.

Love it or hate it, American Typewriter is a typeface that should stay in our font libraries for years to come. Comments are welcome!

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

