Bembo

Sorry my die-hard blog fans, once again it has been a while wince my last post. Okay I know I have no die-hard blog fans, but I’m okay with that. Bembo is the next great typeface on my list, so here we go! Bembo was the revival of the old style typefaces in 1929 by Stanley Morison. The model for Bembo was De Aetna, which was made by Francesco Griffo in 1495. Since this typeface was produced in modern times there is more consistency in the letter forms, as well as being more refined.

The stress of the letter forms is angled, and the serifs in the lowercase characters are oblique. Unique aspects of the face include the uppercase W with crossed stems, the uppercase K with a bowed arm and leg, and the uppercase M and lower case n with inclined stems. The uppercase G is without a spur, the lowercase a has a small bowl, and the lowercase f has an extended terminal. The body copy is extremely consistent in texture and has remained one of the most popular book types since its birth.

I enjoy the uppercase K’s bowed arm and leg because it has more character than the ridged diagonals that we are so used to. The uppercase W creates some interesting negative space where the stems cross and the tail and leg on the uppercase Q and R are very calligraphic and little beautiful. Once again I would have to say my favorite is the lowercase f and j. The larger terminal on the lowercase f makes it seem plant like and makes it seem like it is interacting with the next character. The body copy is very readable and does not make you stop or pause because of any awkward letters or excessive negative space. I like Bembo, but I must say I think Baskerville is far more appealing.

**If you aren’t well versed in typographic language see this site to familiarize yourself with the lingo.

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bembo

  1. Bembo has become so classic, It really is wonderfully designed, that kind of consistency, even with modern technology, takes great acuity.

Leave a Reply

