Mac Life or Macworld?

My senior design show has come and gone and now I have more time to blog once again! Don’t seem too excited…I was thinking of what my new post should be on today when it came to me…on the can. While I am seated on the throne I like to enjoy a recent issue of one of my favorite magazines. Since I am an Apple fan boy I subscribe to both Mac Life and Macworld.

Five years ago I got a free years subscription to Macworld magazine and have been hooked ever since. This fall I got an offer from Mac Life magazine for a free issue and of course I took them up on their offer. At first I saw little difference between the two and was going to cancel my subscription to Mac Life. But after receiving my second issue of Mac Life I changed my mind and stayed on board. But what made me change my mind?

Today I woke up and greeted the day by greeting the bathroom first. As I left the room I grabbed one of my recent magazine issues for some reading. I grabbed Mac Life and went about my business. While I read one of the articles on alternative keyboard and external hard drive solutions I realized something about my subconscious choice in reading material. I thought I grabbed the Mac Life at first because I had read through Macworld already, but that wasn’t the case.

All throughout Mac Life I find that I enjoy the layout of the publication far more than Macworld. Mac Life’s layout is basically the same when it comes to looking simple and clean, but Mac Life uses rules and boxes to enclose its content. Something about using rules and colored boxes makes it look more modern to me and much more organized. Another reason why I like Mac Life more is the format of the magazine. I like how it’s a little larger than standard magazine and the type of paper is a think matte stock. Macworld is close to standard A4 size and is on thinner stock paper. It gives the illusion that it has better stories and makes it feel more expensive.

Comparing the covers of the magazines was also interesting. Both are going for simple and clean, which makes sense since they are all about Apple. Macworld places stories on the cover in a similar point size, while Mac Life has one focus feature with other stories off as side notes. Both have teasers on the top and bottom of the cover, but the difference for me is on the nameplate. Macworld is big, bold, and condensed, but Mac Life has more air between the characters, some color, and isn’t quite as heavy, but still bold. I also like the little icon in the Mac Life logo that calls to the command key symbol on the Apple keyboard.

I will continue to read both Mac Life and Macworld, but as a designer I feel more drawn to Mac Life. Now that I have really looked into the layout, structure, and overall feel of each publication I will be on the look out even more for the subtle differences between the two. I highly recommend subscribing to one or even both if you are an Apple fan boy like I am.

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Anything, Design and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

