iPad my life

This was written a while back, I am just getting around to posting it now…

Today was a great day for me. Today I got to experience the wonderous iPad in all of its glory. Now I have posted my thoughts on the iPad earlier in the year, but now that I have touched one…I have to run my mouth a bit more. I must say I never thought I would get to play with one till I got back home in Connecticut, but I was very lucky indeed to get my hands on one.

First off I have to say that I still want to wait for the 2nd Gen, maybe it will have a couple of cameras on it, not a selling point for me, but more of a guess to what will be on it. Using this device was magical and even people who thought it was stupid changed their minds when they played with it. The video is crisp and clean and photos are great too. The speakers are pretty awesome, but I wish they were split on either side instead of one corner. It is super quick and responsive to every thing you do from orientation to multi gestures. The iPhone apps that you 2x are pretty lame though…they will have to work on getting the iPad versions out super fast. The apps that were on the iPad were pretty cool, but nothing I would use, except for this one that is for star-gazing and for old mac parts.

Now to address some of my early gripes that I posted earlier upon its release. The whole display port thing is annoying, but I had no idea you could get a USB thing. But I will say that having an adapter to use USB is rather annoying, make it a little thicker and slap a normal USB port to cut out the middle man. I understand they will make a killing on accessories that way, but seriously Steve Jobs…I will slap you a 2×4. I am still looking for more 3G coverage with other outfits…but I hear rumors of hope. They better be more than rumors…AT&T you suck. Multi-tasking is probably going to be fixed soon so I’m not worried there anymore. The pen deal for me is fixed because of 3rd party stuff, but I would buy an apple iPad pen. The battery…is amazing from what the owner told me, but I wish I could still take it out…I am a weirdo I know. But as far as a selling point, the battery doesn’t change my mind about buying one…touché Steve. The keyboard is pretty awesome too. Not hard to type on and auto correct makes it pretty easy to type too. I can even type without looking like I can on my laptop! I have heard of some people saying that because of the back it wobbles as you type, but they are wrong. I tried to make it wobble by typing harshly, but it honestly doesn’t move very much to make it annoying at all. Sorry haters, they thought of everything while designing it.

Overall my feelings are I want to buy one right now, but I have to keep myself in check till the second gen comes out and maybe they will even drop the prices…maybe. Steve Jobs sure did make a great product since I am having a hard time choosing between saving for a Mac Mini (for work purposes) or Car (for everything)…or buying an iPad (for my tech and  fan boy satisfaction). I hope they update it before christmas. But don’t expect this product to disappear off the main store page and be a failure like some other products…

oops...

Unfortunately I never got to use the internet so I missed about half of what the device does, but I plan on checking that out in the Mac store soon. Until then I will have to give a half assed review.

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Anything and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to iPad my life

  1. ian says:

    I don’t understand why the TV has to be so bad. It has such amazing potential but noooooooo it has to be tied down and only use certain codecs and garbage. But hacked its pretty boss let me tell you.

    On a different subject I actually think the iPad is pretty amazing (obviously) but so amazing I think I may stop paying for my iphone and just use an iPad.

Leave a Reply

