Tattoo Convention…don’t ask

**Note – I wrote this a while ago and forgot to post it**

So the other day I went to the Boston Tattoo Convention…like I have already stated…don’t ask. Honestly I’m not a HUGE fan of the community, but I don’t wanna get into that. I am a fellow artist so I could appreciate SOME of the art they were doing, note the emphasis on some. In order to entertain myself I walked around and picked up business cards and looked at the banners the artists were using to promote themselves with. Here is what I found.

**WARNING I DO HINT AT MY FEELINGS TOWARDS THIS COMMUNITY IF YOU FEEL YOU MIGHT BE OFFENDED PLEASE DON’T COMMENT OR READ**

Now I was expecting trendy graphic design and stereotypical tattoo style for their business cards and banners, but still, I was a little displeased with the way people choose to promote themselves. I will say that most of this is personal preference since I am not for this style of design one bit, but I will try my hardest to see some redeeming qualities amongst the piles of garbage.

Unfortunately I was not able to get any shots of the banners, but I will give you a quick summary, sex, gore, satan. Now I was able to find 4 artists that decided to go they more classy route, which I found more effective because it makes them stand out. The ones that didn’t do what everyone else was doing had very simple and clean-looking banners, which stood out amongst the chaos and blood.

The banner is what draws you into the booth, next is the actual artwork in their portfolios, and the last thing is the business card. The business card is important because it is something people take with them. They must be compelled by this final promotional piece to actually act on the urge to call the artist and set up an appointment if they already haven’t done that. The business cards overall were a let down aswell. I did find that they were much better than the banners, but most were still graphically overwhelming and tried way to hard. Once again the simpler ones won out with me, leaving the chaos, blood, and naked women in the trash.

 

Papyrus on the skull one...goo...not the dollar bill skull.

 

 

Kid giving the middle finger...classy.

 

 

These ones looked better, Jack was my favorite.

 

 

Pretty sure the PBR one is breaking a copyright law.

 

Now I understand that this is a style I don’t understand or like and that this whole groups love it and it works for them. So just a reminder that these are all my opinions, so feel free to disagree, but please no hate filled responses. Otherwise you will just give me the pleasure of deleting them.

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Tattoo Convention…don’t ask

  1. Ian Davis says:

    Hate hate hate hate.
    Ok not really. Yeah I agree with the you on the weirdos in the tattoo community.

Leave a Reply

