Brooklyn Local 1

Let me start by saying, I LOVE Brooklyn Brewery and the beers they produce. They are probably my favorite brewery in the northeast and maybe in the US as a whole. With that out-of-the-way, Brooklyn’s Local 1…I hated it.

I was absolutely surprised that I hated something from this brewery this much. From all the hype the website and reviews gave this beer I thought it was gonna be pretty good, but boy was I disappointed. On the pour it had a golden color to it, a lot lighter than I expected. The light color lead me to believe that the Local 1 would be just my kinda beer, non-hoppy. But hops had nothing to do with this belgium inspired strong golden ale, it was overwhelmingly sweet. I finished maybe half a glass and had to pour the rest out. Other than the sweetness it left a very nasty aftertaste in my mouth, still can’t pinpoint it. My parents tried it, thinking maybe I was an idiot, but they both had the same reaction. It pained me to pour the rest of the bottle out, maybe I should have poured it out in front of an alcoholic instead…

Even though the beer wasn’t what I was expecting at all I still think the bottle and label are cool (the design nerd side of me), so I am keeping the bottle and cork. This only cost me around $10 (with my discount) which is better than the $15 regular price, so I would say unless you are a Brooklyn fan and want to give the Local 1 a shot…save your self some money.

I just bought the Brooklyner-Schneider Hopfen-Weisse (a mouthful) and I am very hopeful about my second tasting of the “big bottles”…more on that later.

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Liquor and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

