Rum of the Titans

I first heard of this Rum from an issue of Communication Arts magazine, where it was featured in with the 51st packaging design winners. It was chosen for a very good reason too, it’s bad ass. At this point I had only seen the bottle and label, little did I know that their was much more under the surface (pun intended). I searched online for the Kraken and found its Flash website, which is hours of fun to explore. On the site they sell a the perfume, the book, lamp shades, shower curtains, shirts, and so much cool/random stuff it will be hard not to buy it all. Once I get myself back on my feet financially I will be buying the book and a shirt for sure. Whoever did the marketing for this product knew what they were doing and did an amazing job. But none of that would have been possible if it wasn’t for the designer.

First the packaging/bottle, which stands out from most of the Rum I have seen in the liquor store. The bottle looks like it’s right out of the old world. The handles on the neck and the word “Kraken” raised out of the glass are probably my favorite aspects. The label design is what will really sell you on this bottle of Rum, with its victorian style drawing and design elements, it is very appealing. The victorian style typography is well executed and reinforces the brand throughout the campaign. The drawing of the mythical beast is charming and calls back to the age where it was not seen as just a legend. The wit involved on the reverse side and all over the marketing makes this product talked about. I bought this bottle merely because I loved it as a piece of art and one day it will break my heart to krak it open and have a taste.

Some designers I know aren’t completely sold on the large black and decorative name plate on the front. One person told me it was too busy and detracted from the drawing. I personally have no problem with the name plate and really like the metallic treatments and textures that have been incorporated as well. It is all in the details and I can tell the designer really enjoyed this job and put his heart into it.

If you ever have $15.99 to spare I would suggest you buy this…I hope it tastes good. Oh and enjoy the commercials I found, they’re awesome.

About Kevin Coté

I am a graphic design consultant and freelance designer by trade. I have been working for M&R Liquors for 5 years now and have enjoied the liquor industry. Here my thoughts that will range from Design and Liquor to Politics and Movies...but mostly Design and Liquor.
This entry was posted in Design, Liquor and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

